Is this a S&W Revolver? No Emblem

Whiteboy67

Hello, I recently came across this revolver and am not sure what model it is. I've included a link to an image hosting site that has all the pictures. I'm fairly certain the revolver has been re-blued but I didn't see any logo on the frame. Could it have been sanded down too far and a thick bluing coat applied after? I have no experience with re-bluing so I'm not sure if that's even possible. Any info is appreciated!

Pictures: http://imgur.com/a/j17Qu

Thank you,
Cody

It looks like a pre-m27?? The hammer style, rear sight checkering, and tapered bbl all looks pre-model 27 to me...Could this be what's known as a Registered Magnum??

I have been told that true stripping and re-blueing does wear on any engraving and stamps. Quite possible this has been re-blued.

Love to hear what a member more knowledgeable than I has to say about it....

It appears to be a Registered Magnum and I believe is marked as such. Too bad it has been refinished as far as the collector value goes. Should be a good shooter.

I have the same gun

It is a pre 27 that has been refinished. You have a nice N framed revolver there.

Mine has the emblem smoothed off also

steve

The registered magnum's still had the smith logo on the right side of the frame, no?
It's a Registered Magnum from the mid / late 1930's. The logo has been removed by aggressive polishing for the refinish.

Still worth 4 figures.

Jim

As other have stated, it is a Registered 357 Magnum. The registration # is the 4 digit number after the REG. on the yoke. In this case 3986.

The owner could probably find a source which could re-stamp the S&W emblem if desired. There are several sources that could restore it to like new such as Ford down in Florida. It would be expensive, but a weapon of this desirability might be worth it. It will never recover the value of a good non-refinished one.