Is this a P08 Luger Magazine from WWI/WWII?

Skarekrow88

My grandfather recently passed away and I found this in the basement along with an assortment of other magazines. I know he had a WWII era Luger and an Artillery Luger at one point in time but sold them both. Is this an authentic war time Luger magazine?

There appears to be a barely visible and half faded "63" just below the Eagle stamping. Not sure if this is significant but thought I would mention it.

https://imgur.com/a/p0s5yPW

Last edited:
German P.08 production ended in 1942. Some Lugers has their magazines serial # to the gun ( usually last two digits of the gun's serial #) the "Eagle over 63" is one of the German military acceptance marks. There are other numbers as well.

with the aluminum base and those marks I would put the magazine in the 1930s era made for the German military, not commercial sale.

So, yes I would say it is an authentic "wartime" P.08 magazine.

But I'm no expert...

German military Luger serial numbers were done in blocks, starting at the beginning of each year. 0001-9999, then started over with a letter suffix 0001a-9999a and so on.

So its entirely possible to have two (or more) Lugers with the same serial number, but made in different years.

The Eagle stamping is the Kaiser's. Nazi stuff has a wee swastika in a circle on the bottom of the eagle.
That eagle is known as The Breech block Proof. Found on W.W. I and earlier pistols.
Net search 'PO8 Luger serial numbers' and you'll see a .pdf titled Standard Catalog of Luger - Self Defense Fund.

Germany has used a lot of different eagle stamps with different variants within specific stamps. Many but not all of the stamps used during the Nazi era had that "wee swastika" and some of the ones that did were struck so poorly the mark is incomplete.