is it just me or do exit wounds bleed more?

Deja vu

I have been shooting deer for many years mostly with my 357 magnum and occasionally with my 45-70 or my brothers 30-06.

Any way this last season I shot a deer with a big slow heavy 45-70 that left an exit wound on the right side that seemed to bleed really heavily. I seem to recall the same with other kills with my 45-70. I have seen entrance wounds that bleed very little but never seen an exit that did not bleed like crazy.

So is it just my experience or do exit wounds bleed more?

The entry hole of a bullet will be the diameter of the bullet. A typical hunting bullet will expand upon impact. The exit wound will be the diameter of the expanded bullet plus the effect of any bone (or perhaps cartilage) fragments that are driven through the area of the exit wound. I have not measured entry and exit holes but this is my opinion based on hunting deer for about 40 years.

the entry hole is only for things entering, the exit hole is for things exiting and that means blood too.

Pretty much normal for any chambering. Even more dramatic with more modern chamberings with fast moving expanding bullets. 2-3" diameter exit holes are common vs .24 to .30 entrance holes.

Well yeah it's pretty much a given that an exit hole will bleed more. Not only will it typically be bigger than the entrance hole but if you are hunting from a tree stand or elevated shooting house it will also be the lowest hole. If the chest cavity of the animal is filling up with blood then the lower hole will be the first one that starts to bleed profusely.

entrance wounds are uniform and the diameter of the bullet. as the bullet passes through the animal it becomes ragged and deforms outward. this makes the exit wound ragged and larger than the original diameter.
hope this helps.