investarms hawkins -- loads and powder question

REDCELL

i am new to black powder. i bought this rifle for my father because of his love for the movie Jerimiah Johnson.
It is a Investarms Hawkins .50

i'd like to know what are the best/correct primers, and what powder to use. (triple 7 ,etc..)

I know there are so many different types of ball/sabot/bullets --which works the best (brand and diamater)

finally i need a basic understanding of a cleaning kit. i've heard soap and water though..

thanks for any reponses

You should experiment to find your best load, but I will tell you what works with mine. Mine is absolutely amazingly accurate with .490 round balls, prelubed .018 Thompson Center patch, 60 grains of Goex fffg. One ragged hole at 50 yards. Number 11 percussion caps for ignition. I use plain cold water to clean and then lube with Ballistol, works great with no problems. You will get lots of opinions on cleaning, this is what works for me.

Pick up a copy of Lyman's Blackpowder Handbook. It has what I think is the best treatise on general blackpowder use available.

You particular gun will take some tuning of the basic loads listed in the owner's manual which came with it. Start with their recommendations and then start changing ONE THING AT A TIME, until you find a load which is accurate and fun to shoot.

Welcome to the sport of "shootin' dirty." :D

Pops

Sometimes it easier to load using an .015 patch and only a little accuracy is sacrificed. Then as the rifle gets broken in after several hundred rounds, the thicker patch sometimes will become easier to load. Loading difficulties have been known to lead to broken ramrods and puncture wounds.

I too shoot one of the Investarms .50 Hawkins and have found 60 grains (and remember this is by volume) of either goex or 777 under a .495 rb and .018 patch will shoot a ragged one hole group @ 50 yards, if i do my part. It doesnt like pyrodex as well though and groups open up a little.