Informed electorate

MLeake

Ok, I'm going to vent a little bit. Mods, not sure if this will be too off-topic, as it is primarily but not solely political.

I'm a defense contractor. I'm filling out my absentee ballot, since I'm overseas. I'd like to be able to make informed decisions while I fill out my ballot. However, on all the non-glamorous elections (IE insurance commissioner, agriculture secretary, board of education, etc) it is next to impossible to find any real information on which to make an educated decision.

I'm very tempted to use the write-in option on some of these, and just say, "not enough info to vote".

How do I exercise my civil right to vote, when the media doesn't bother to publish endorsements for the "minor" races?

Here's the tie-in to 2A / gun rights: Even the NRA and GeorgiaCarry.org haven't endorsed anybody in the judicial races. How can I try to vote for pro-2A judges, if I don't have the time and resources to study candidates' case histories, and organizations dedicated to this sort of thing don't publish endorsements?

It's extremely frustrating. I try to avoid "party-line" voting, and actually vote based on merits and issues. But sometimes, merits are hidden and issues aren't stated...

And there's the rant.

I applaud you for your approach to your vote.
Here at home we have the same issue around judges.Its hard.
This year,in Colorado,we have a "clearthebench.org" page.I believe it is important to make serious choices with the local,grass roots politics.Those are the folks who later sit on the Supreme Court or the Senate.
You got anybody back home can help?
Take care of yourself,

Last edited:
People back home, and assistance

HiBC,

Thanks for the interest; I enjoy a fantastic support network. Tight-knit family and friends; the added perk is that all of them are fairly politically aware, and most of them are also pretty well educated.