Importance of Standard Deviation

Bulletmann

Inactive
Brand new and first time forum user. I have shot black powder cartridge rifle 45-70 for years. Now have pacemaker and am looking for something with less recoil to shoot 1000 yds and closer, on steel.

Am currently in the process of working up a load for my 38-35 cal rifle with smokeless powder. I am not experienced in loading smokeless powder, so the learning curve is steep.

Had a discussion with a fellow reloader and friend about the importance of Standard Deviation (SD) in long range shooting.

He doesn't think it's important and I do. Would appreciate your comments!

Thank you! Mac

SD only represents your ability to make uniform loads, it won't make you a better marksman or your gun preform better. It only gives you a better chance. And it does matter.

Standard deviation (usually abbreviated as the lower case “s” or Greek sigma, or sometimes sd or SD) is one of a number of different but somewhat related measures of the variability, or dispersion, in a set of measurements, or in the population from which the sample set is drawn. Others include the variance (which is the square of s), the range, the coefficient of variation, and the mean or average deviation. Each of these can be useful, but s has the advantage that, in a normally distributed population (and most “velocity” – technically, because it’s a scalar not a vector, “speed” – measurements associated with reloaded ammunition that I’ve tested are, in fact, normally distributed or acceptably close to being so), the mean plus or minus s will include about two-thirds of the population, +/- 2s will include 95%, and +/- 3s will include 99%.