I'm new to BP & would like some advice.

V4Vendetta

I believe that according to NC law*, BP pistols can be bought at 18. Is this true? If it is, are these a good brand**? If not a good brand, what is?

Also, how do you load a BP pistol? What's a good caliber for HD & plinking?

Is Black Powder shooting very dangerous? I heard of one guy getting his hand blew off:eek: . And he was a Marine with training. These are the only hands I have & I'm very attached to them.

Sorry if I'm asking too many questions. Thanks for the help.

*http://www.jus.state.nc.us/NCJA/ncfirearmslaws.pdf

**http://www.uberti.com/firearms/paterson.tpl

I believe that according to NC law*, BP pistols can be bought at 18. Is this true?

The easiest way to find out is to call a local gunshop and ask them. You don't have to buy it from them, but you don't have to tell them that. If there is a legal way to sell you one, they should know.
If you want to double check on any info. they give you, call the state firearms unit with the state (or county) police (who performs the background checks). They won't usually steer a person wrong,
not on purpose anyway. Then there is always the local police too, but be more wary of receiving misleading info. from them in some places.

37 views & nobody has any ideas?

Was that enough to get you going? The only point that I would question in Choy's Primer is when he talks about the size of caps...According to an old Colt pamphlet I have, you get a better fit with caps that have to be pinched at the bottom to make them stay on.

I have .36 and .44 caliber. They are both great calibers to shoot. Of course, .44 uses more powder and lead, but you get the added power. For plinking? Either will do. You have to decide if you want an open framed Colt revolver or a full framed Remington - again, both are great.