I'm a newbie and have a question - coyotes!

I live in North Carolina farmland and have seen several coyotes on the edges of the woods as I'm mowing my pastures. I just ordered a military shotgun scabbard to mount on my tractor so I'm prepared next time. My question is this: I'd like to use my Browning .20 ga pump with #4 buckshot with a full choke since they're going to be pretty close - 40-50 yds. This will be my first time trying to nail a coyote - used to hunt upland game birds in my home state of Michigan. Is it doable? I already have the gun and don't really want to spend the money for another.

P.S. Before y'all go thinking I'm a wimp for using a .20 ga, I am a female and I feel comfortable with this gun.

Thanks for any input/advice!

Probably work okay. My only shotgun experience of that sort was on a bobcat at about 25 yards. Full-choke 12-gauge, high-brass 7-1/2 shot. One somersault and a flop. :)

Wouldn't hurt to do some practicing to get a good feel for sight picture for 40/50 yards.

Oh I don't think you'll have to worry about #4 buck not doing its job. You'll be doing the neighborhood a favor by removing a couple of them mangy dogs. Its kind of a trade off though. You'll gain a fawn or two occasionally in the woods but loose a good mouser._:)
BTW. Welcome to the TFLF Ms.

Thanks! If I bag any, I'll post a pic! Wish me luck (I know that's what it'll take on these guys!). I also heard if you give a couple barks as he starts to turn away, he may stop and look for a few seconds and give you a better chance. Here's hoping!

40-50 yards is right on the edge of being too far. Patterns are going to be pretty thin out there. I'd use a rifle, even a 22 rimfire at 40-50 yards would be my preference over a shotgun. When calling them and at ranges of 25 yards of so a shotgun would be a good choice.

Go with your second choice. If you are thinking of getting a new gun for that purpose don't even mess with your 20. Jmr40 is right about a thin pattern.