If I wanted to buy a .38 S&W chambered revolver

TruthTellers

which would be the better choice: A Webley in .38/200 or an H&R Defender?

th

6586602_01_h_r_38_s_w_defender_640.jpg

Or would the original .38 S&W revolver be a better choice?

330px-Smith_%26_Wesson_.38_Single_Action_2nd_Model.jpg

I do plan to reload the ammo and shoot whichever revolver I may end up getting.

Webley for me.

If you plan to handload, I suggest you slug the cylinder throat and the bore. For reason still unknown, at least to me, the nominal bullet diameter for 38 s&w is 0.361". But throat and bore in actual revolvers could be much smaller. Both of my 2 revolvers do the best when I used 9mm, 0.355”, bullets.

-TL

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk

I had a S&W .38 Single Action and shot it in CAS pocket pistol side matches.
It is a bit of a kicker and if you break it, parts are scarce.

A friend is a Webley man.

I have no experience with the H&R.

I once owned a Marlin double action top break that was very similar to one of the S&W models.

I would try to find a decent S&W.

Wow, a variety of answers. Good.

So, the reason I'm made the thread is in the back of my mind I want to reload for the .38 S&W and have a top break .38 revolver. I had been thinking about the Webley because i have a thing for WW2 era guns, especially sidearms from all the major nations that fought.

The H&R I like because I like H&R revolvers and the Defender is probably the best .38 S&W revolver they ever made.

The S&W is just cool. That gun looks so small it could be a fair carry gun even today.

The break top S&W's aren't a robust design. I've put a couple hundred rounds through the ones I own but wouldn't plan on shooting them on a regular basis. However they can be found for cheap with some searching - $100 to $200 isn't uncommon. They are really neat guns and small even compared to J frames.