IDPA shooters, drop slide on empty chamber?

gregjc9

I started shooting IDPA last year, and love it. I have a knock-off match at a local range tonight, so last night I was practicing, and realized I had been dropping the slide on my XDm on an empty chamber when showing empty to the RO at the end of a stage. I've read all the pros and cons about doing this, and I try not to whenever I'm at the range practicing. But when finishing a stage and showing the RO the firearm is clear before holstering, I realized I had been doing just that. I will start easing the slide closed with my off hand. Just wondered how many others do it at a match, but not when regularly practicing?

I never intentionally allow the slide to slam shut on any gun I own. Some people do, and if it doesn't bother them, it doesn't bother me. That's not true, I cringe every time. ;)

That's kind of what I had figured. I never do any other time, I guess I was getting caught up in all of it. I had a match tonight, and I made sure I didnt let my slide slam close. :o

you will get tons of people with different opinions. I know the side of people that say it is bad for the gun and the others who says it doesnt matter. I know i have dropped the slide on empty chamber thousands upon thousands of times with pretty much all of my guns and have NEVER had an issue. However, i feel that its like most things, when done in moderation it will not effect, so i am trying to switch over, but when shooting competitions the man giving the instructions is boss and if he says something about riding the slide forward and you dont listen, you will be asked to leave or not attend again. I have found most competition shooters to be very helpful and friendly, but most places ive shot do not give more than one chance on unsafe gun handling or disobeying range officer commands