IDPA questions on equip and courses

Blue Duck357

A friend mentioned a IDPA match (or qualification, not sure) at his local range (about an hour from me) It sounded intersting, But I really don't know much about it. I found there website but was not sure about a couple of things.

I assume I can use my Glock 23 in Sidearmor holster (OWB), in thier "stock" category, but I was considering tritium night sites and a 3.5 pound disconnector from Glock, would either or both of these rule me out?

My second question is I know pretty situational, but I wonder what the general max range to these things are. If a lot of stages are at 50+ yards or head shots at 35 yards I frankly don't have much business even wasting these folks time by showing up with my present set up and skill level.

I work as a parole officer and we go through tactical courses a couple times a year and I do great, but freely admit this is against mostly "I shoot twice a year, when I have to" folks. I also have a 1991A1, but really carry the Glock more and would like to get better with it. Would this be good way to accomplish that? or would I just be kinda of getting in the way of the "real" competitors.

Thanks for any help, Blue Duck

You can do anything to the gun except weights or ports.
Don't worry about the long shots, you'll get better with competition. I've never seen a 50 yd. shot at any match I've been to.

Blue Duck357:

If you will go back to the IDPA Website, you can look at the rule book. There are no externally visible modifications allowed other than grips or sights. For instance, you can not add an extended mag release like the one on the G35. Sights must be standard notch and post and night sights are allowed. The 3.5 trigger is also allowed.