IDPA holsters

kix

Inactive
I am new to IDPA and looking for a holster for my Glock 17. I was looking at one from "Side Armor" It said it was approved for IDPA. What holters are recomended. And where do you find which ones are approved for IDPA?
Thanks

No holsters are specifically approved for IDPA, they did away with that a year ago.
Holsters must meet requirements given in the rule book.
If a belt holster, it must be a strong side holster vertical or with muzzle to the rear (FBI) cant, not adjustable while worn. It must hold at least some part of the gun within 3/4" of your body. It may not have a visible gap between holster and belt or form one between belt and body.

Looking at the Sidearmor website, I doubt the Modular would pass, but the Vertical Scabbard probably will. Also BladeTech, Comp-Tac, ReadyTac, Talon, and probably some others. The Uncle Mike belt holster does not pass, but the Paddle does.

I use an injection molded Blade-Tech for my Glock 35 in IPSC and IDPA.

http://www.blade-tech.com/Combo-Pak-Special-pr-897.html

Hard to beat that deal. $40 for a belt and paddle holster and a double mag pouch. I had an Uncle Mike's Kydex for a long time, but the Blade-Tech is a lot more flexible, so you can loosen it up a lot more for competition if you want to, but you can easily tighten it back up for carry. For IPSC I use the pair on a Bianchi Accumold duty belt. Works great! I've got a used Wilson Combat 1911 on layaway that comes with a Wilson leather-cover Kydex holster. I'll let you know how that works in a couple months.