I want to offer ultrasonic cleaning to customers...questions...

hifiaudio

Inactive
I am getting my FFL type 7 and SOT 02 and also want to offer untrasonic cleaning and lubing at my business as a value add and way to differentiate and attract new customers. I am just beginning to look into the various machines. Obviously I need a high quality industrial unit, capable of cleaning and lubing a few guns at a time and long enough for long uppers, etc. I figure a tank that is at least 20" should cover most weapons.

Any gotchas or advice for what I should look for as far as brands or even specific models? I have been looking at Crest.

Any issues with me doing this? Has one every harmed a gun that anyone here knows about personally? I certainly wouldn't want to ruin anything or even really have a possibility of doing so.

Thanks for any advice!

I just did this for my shop. Be prepared.

In addition to the ultrasonic unit and oil bath unit, you need drying/dripping racks to set the guns in while they dry and drip out the excess oil from the oil bath.

You will need good ventilation or things in your shop will begin to rust. The tank is heated and puts out some steam when it is opened.

A sturdy stand is needed, because the ultrasonic cleaner is heavy when filled with water, and only 20" tall, so you need to raise it up to 36" so you can work around it and see into it as well as overhead clearance so you can lift the parts out of the solution.

Be sure to set up the ultrasonic cleaner with distilled water, otherwise you will get spots on the metal.

Thanks... I am thinking of the Lyman pro series now.. nice and long at 36" and very good reviews. Would get two of them to leave the oil bath in the second one more or less permanently. So you dont need to use compressed air to dry after the lubricant bath? Just let them drip for a while?

So it would be ~20 min in the cleaner, take out, put in lube bath for 15-20 more, take out, drip dry?