I wanna start shooting competively?

adrake86

Inactive
I don't know if this is the right section or even the right forum but any help would be greatly appreciated.

I want to start shooting competitively as a hobby. I am a police officer and it would greatly benefit me to shoot more than I do now.

I live in Georgia, USA and have no idea how to get started on this.

If anyone could help me...suggest where to go...who to talk to...I'm sorry if this is the wrong section.

Thanks!

Question #1 would be. What firearm would you like to use? Rifle ,Pistol or Shotgun?
There is a group that could offer different styles of competition with each type firearm.

I shoot IDPA
www.idpa.com
know a lot of folks in IPSC/USPSA
www.uspsa.org

There are club finders on those sites. These are action shooting sports with a lot of movement and variety.

NRA now runs PPC which the FBI started in the 1930s.
http://www.nrahq.org/law/
It isn't as flashy as IDPA or IPSC but it is police-only and may get you training credits from your agency.

If you carry a Glock (70% of the law enforcement market), there is GSSF:
http://gssfonline.com/

Go to IDPA's website, search for clubs in your area. You can do the same at USPSA's site as well. I to am a police officer and I chose to shoot IDPA due to the fact it is more self deffense related. I enjoy shooting it even though some of the rules are bassackwards, but that's a different topic all together. IDPA promotes use of cover, threat and non-threat targets, and shooting on the move. Stuff you should be familar with. USPSA is more of a run and gun sport. It is very fun, but I like the IDPA better myself.

there is no "vs"

I prefer USPSA for its lack of "tell you how"; www.uspsa.org and use the Club Finder.

You can shoot USPSA like you've been trained (except you won't "win"; BFD).

You can shoot USPSA like you've been trained (except you won't "win"; BFD).