I Need a Good Simple Flashlight...

Cosmodragoon

I've been using the same set of Maglite incandescent flashlights for decades. They used to be cutting edge, from their incredible reliability down to the spare bulb tucked under the battery spring. Now... well, technology has come a long way. So help me get with the times.

I want a relatively small flashlight. I want it bright but not like, Ark of the Covenant bright. I want the button on the end for thumb operation. I do NOT want to cycle through a whole bunch of modes with that button. I just want "on" or "off". I want it waterproof, resilient, and long-lasting. I want it for under fifty bucks.

Any recommendations?

I've been carrying the Cree type flashlights daily for quite a few years now that use the batteries that look like a AA battery on steroids, 18650 Li-Ion I think.
Doubt that you'll find one without the feature of multiple modes by pushing the 'on' button, but some are less temperamental than others in that respect.
They make some pretty puny ones that simply use one AA as well.
Great light with a beam that you can focus, durable, waterproof, for very little money.
Pick them up off eBay with light, charger, and at least one battery for anywhere from $5 to $50,(if you want to overpay).
Cheap enough that I keep one in the truck, the service truck, and several places around the house along with the one on my belt daily and two batteries in a charger on the counter 24/7.
Car chargers for the batteries are available as well or you can use the typically included cradle for three AAA batteries instead.
Here's a link to some on eBay.

https://www.ebay.com/sch/sis.html?_nkw=G1000+Tactical+LED+Flashlight++-+Adjustable+Tac+Light+Ultra+Bright+CREE+T6+-+KIT&_id=332140152959&&_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2658

Streamlight Microstream. AAA

Hear me out.

I have a ton of flashlights and the Microstream at like 17 bucks simply punches far above its weight for a general purpose have it anywhere buy a few flashlight.