I can't believe I'm considering this...

tahunua001

price check on a 1891/41 carcano?
the wood is unusually good condition though it still has some dings and dents. the metal is about 80% finish. the stock, barrel, and floorplate serials all match. the handle has been bent down. was this ever done factory or did bubba get it?

am I missing any serial number locations?
any problems with these rifles I should know about?(other than being a carcano).

is $190 a good deal on one of these or should I let it go?

I need another 6.5 surplus rifle like I need the flu but I figure for the same price as mosin nagants are going in my area it may be a decent addition.

I have made more than my share of posts on Carcanos. I have examined many and shot many. I can't recall seeing a long barrel 1891 with a bent bolt handle. Carbines a different story as you probably know.
Having said that, there are so many variations of Carcanos out there you could fill a closet easily. I am no expert.

Most Carcanos sell for just under $200. Someone once posted the number imported stateside on this forum and it was astounding.
IMHO if the Carcano has a good bore, $190 is a not bad deal.

You more than likely are aware of the unique bore dimensions of the Carcanos and how temperamental they can be if not fed certain diameter bullets.

yes I know about the goofball diameter. the bore, looks like a nice, new, freshly installed...sewerpipe. barely any lands left and the crown is nice and squared off. looks like I should probably try to talk it down.

I have a 41, but I have never seen as many of those as I have seen of the other models. For a 190 bucks, Id say get it.

If the bore is as you described, I would pass unless you want a wall hangar or parts gun. Checked GunBroker for the heck of it and there must be around 30 Carcanos listed. I am trying to think if I have ever seen one with a serial number on the bolt. Has anyone?

WOW: Someone has an "Oswald" Carcano for sale on GB for $1975