I am now a Revolver owner! And a couple of questions.

Correia

I went to the gunshow yesterday, of course not planning to buy anything, only helping a friend look for a good deal on a 1911. I've always only owned square flat guns, I've very little experience with round guns. Except that I learned to shoot with my Dad's Blackhawk, and other than that and what I've read in gun mags I know very little about revolvers.

But I've always wanted a 1917 in .45 ACP. I don't know why. They are just so big and ugly and serious looking. Well yesterday I found one. $225 out the door! It has been reparkerized (looks like a good job too). The bore is in great shape. The action feels good. It looks like it is in time. TFLers Bobwest & skyder (both revolver knowledgable type folks) thought that it looked real good. Somebody has put Pachymars on it, but I guess that is okay. I bought it to shoot not to look at. :)

The fact that it is a .45 put me over the edge. I came close to buying a minty '60s highpower that morning, but it was $500, which is stretching the old gun budget, and I don't own any 9mm or reload any 9mm. But I always have .45 laying around. Same dealer that I bought a tack-driving sporterized Mauser from last show. 200 dealers and I end up at the same folks twice in a row.

No chance to shoot it yet, but hopefully I will sneak out tomorrow night. Got 5 moon clips ready to go.

A couple of questions:

1. Is it okay to dry fire a 1917? It has the type of hammer with the firing pin on it, is there danger of breakage?

2. Is it safe to carry it around with a round under the hammer? Or is this a 5 shooter when lugged around? There is no transfer bar.

3. Where do you lube round guns? :p My 1911s have all sorts off parts that like oil.

4. What kind of loads do these like? My standard .45 reload is a 200 gr. lead SWC, on 5 gr. of bullseye. Not a very hot load, so I'm guessing that should work just fine.