Hunting Show this weekend in OKC, what to get?

HukeOKC

So far, I am going to be hunting on the ground without a stand. I will be hunting with a Remington 700 BDL in 30-06. But I need some ideas from some experienced Deer hunters of things they take to the hunt with them. I plan on getting some rattling antlers and a call but I don't know what are the best kind. So a few hints on brands would be helpful.

If you have some small items that you just wouldn't be without, please let me know what they are. I am fairly experienced in the field as far as survival the Army way, but give me some things that you bring along that have come in handy from time to time. Like iodine tablets, hand/feet warmers, MRE's, etc. I am fairly new to deer hunting and so I haven't quite figured out all the extras to bring along just yet.

Please include brand names if you can so I'll know what to look for. Thanks in advance.

HukeOKC, any answer will be subjective as each hunter has his/her own way of doing things and what items are carried out on a hunt. So....

First, unless you are experienced with the antlers and calls, I'd leave them at home. You might scare off more deer than you call in. Practice during the off season.

Secondly, start with a small day pack and put in a canteen of water, toilet paper in Ziplok bag, waterproof match case and stick matches, Bic lighter, a good compass and topo map, a package of beef jerky or similar food, 25 feet of 550 parachute cord, a space blanket, and a poncho or rain suit. (I've had to use my rain suit more times than I can count. I like Helly-Hanson but there are other good ones.)

I carry a good drop point 4 inch blade knife on my belt with a diamond sharpner attached to the sheath. In my pocket is a three bladed stockman style Camillus pocket knife. I also carry the ammo in my rifle, plus ten rounds in my pack. Others carry more; others less.