How To Select Shotgun Sight Bead

The Rattler

I bought an old run down single shot Excell shotgun for a project to refurbish. I am new to this, but I have refinished 5 wood stocks now. On this one, I used Pilkington's Classic Gunstock Finish.

This gun, however, is missing the sight bead on the muzzle end of the barrel. There is a hole for it, but the bead is missing. I want to replace it. The problem is I don't know how to acquire a replacement.

Excell shotguns were reportedly a brand name for Montgomery Ward shotguns. I understand there were at least 3 companies that manufactured them for Montgomery Ward, one of which was Iver Johnson. People on another forum that specialize in identifying guns had difficulty identifying the maker, but eventually said this one is an Iver Johnson "variant," whatever that means.

The exterior of this receiver looks the same as an Iver Johnson Champion. So I ordered a bead for that make and model, but it doesn't fit. It is too small to screw into the hole.

According to the invoice from Numerich, that bead is "3-56 Thread, .190 High, .185 Dia." I don't even know what those numbers mean. Again, this one is too small.

Now, what do I do? I've never done anything like this before, but I am eager to learn.

#3-56 is a very small threaded hole. The first number is the major diameter of the threaded hole. For instance, a 1/4-20 threaded hole has a 1/4 inch diameter. In this case, 3 is a number as opposed to a nominal diameter. I'm not sure what the diameter would be. 56 is pitch, meaning there are 56 threads per inch. .190 high is presumably how tall the bead is and .185 is likely the diameter.

I'll admit that's a strange thread pitch. Gogling it actually brings up a result for the front sight bead from Numrich. In lieu of finding a dedicated replacement part, you would need to to know the thread pattern (diameter and pitch) to find a suitable replacement.