How to mount this Tasco?

DueceOne

Inactive
This may seem like a basic problem, but I'm new to rifles in general.

I bought a Savage Mark II F that came with these base mounts that don't seem to accept the rings that came with my Tasco 3-9x32.

Should I buy a new base mount or new rings? I don't know what rings fit onto the stock base mounts that come with a factory new Savage Mark II F.

Thanks guys.

Tell us the problem.

I bought a Savage Mark II F that came with these base mounts that don't seem to accept the rings that came with my Tasco 3-9x32.
Might want to give us more info than this. Can you be more specific on why it's not working. I suspect you might need a different set of rings. ..... :confused:

Be Safe !!!

You probably have a mismatch between the rail and rings. Most 22lr rifles have used a 3/8" wide dovetail mount, most standard rings are for a weaver rail that is 13/16".

@bedlamite
@Pahoo

I think it is a mismatch. The rings that came with the scope don't seem to fit on the rail. It's not really a rail though, it's two seperate mounts. But anyways, they don't seem to be compatible. How would I go about fixing this issue? Buy a rail that is compatible with my Tasco? A Weaver rail should do the trick?

I think I'm going to go ahead and buy 2 of the Weaver Top-Mounts you guys suggested. Then, if somehow my current rings don't fit the weaver mount, I'll order new rings that are for sure compatible.

Thanks for the help guys.

Oh and also, since this is my first time mounting a scope, you guys suggest investing in applicants like Loctite threadlockers and cleaners/degreasers? Hopefully my local Walmart or Dicks carries those.

Oh and also, since this is my first time mounting a scope, you guys suggest investing in applicants like Loctite threadlockers and cleaners/degreasers?
There's no need for Locktite

Just clean the screws AND the holes with a good solvent to remove any oil and then install the bases and rings

RimFire 3/8" VS. standard 1" ??