How old were you when you started shooting?

Will Beararms

I started deer hunting on a stand by myself with a Winchester Model 1400 20 gauge semi-auto at age seven. I hunted with my father starting at age five. To this date, I have haad no desire to use a firearm in an unlawful manner. However, as a child, I was not allowed to watch violent television garbage. I hear so much about children and weapons these days. What about decency, personal responsiblity and the Hollywood cesspool?

------------------
"When guns are outlawed;I will be an outlaw."

I was 5 when my folks bought a farm...so shortly thereafter. No big deal was attached to it, just was a thing to do. By 10/11 one of my daily chores was varmit control...unsupervised, I walked around with a .22 and shot rabbits and the satanic, heinous & vile ground squirrels (ya know I had to get that in there :)).

------------------
"Quis custodiet ipsos custodes" RKBA!

me i started shooting with a 10/22 when i was 10 and moved up to a 12ga. the next year
and have been shooting ever since ok so it hasent been that long 9 years
------------------
oneshotonekill

[This message has been edited by zip (edited October 16, 1999).]

5, my dad had a Remington .22 of unknown origin or model #. My first gun was a Marlin single shot bolt action .22 which I lost in a housefire :(

------------------
DOCSpanky
"Walk softly and carry a big stick, perferably one of the 12 guage variety!"

Age 5. Remington model 34, .22lr bolt gun. 1200 acres of cattle ranch and nearest neighbor was 2.5 miles away. Dad bought the .22lr by the bricks so I could decimate the troublesome armadillo population; their holes a plague to cattle & machinery alike.

By age 9 I had a 7.62x54mm Russian Mosin-Nagant which I mail-ordered from Sears for $13. The first 500 rounds of surplus ammo cost about $7.

My next set of really big grins were direct from Uncle Sugar's arsenal...

------------------
Mykl
~~~~~
"If you really want to know what's going on;