How Has Your Taste In Firearms Changed Over The Years?

mk70ss

I started shooting in about 1975. Mostly with a Remington single shot bolt action rifle. Quickly decided that I really liked handguns better than long guns and ended up with a Ruger MKI .22. I must have put 100,000 rounds through that Ruger. Then I got a then new Ruger GP100 .357 revolver, my first new gun. After that, I began spending every spare dime I had on various handguns and reloading gear. After some reflection, I figure over the years I have owned over 120 different handguns, sometimes the same one more than once. I got into the tactical, high capacity semis, the big bore revolvers with maxed out handloads, the precision bullseye guns like Walther GSP’s and Pardini’s. But as I age (I am 54), I find I gravitate, buy, and like to shoot the classic .22 revolvers and SAA’s the most. The wheelguns from Colt and S&W and the Uberti SAA clones are the guns that give me the most enjoyment at the range and here at our ranch.

As a Life member of SNM-Sons of Neanderthal Man-I am a real stuck in the mud. No polymer or aluminum or exotic frames, no "safe" actions, etc. Steel and walnut-OK, stainless steel and rubber grips is a good combo.

As a Life member of SNM-Sons of Neanderthal Man-I am a real stuck in the mud. No polymer or aluminum or exotic frames, no "safe" actions, etc. Steel and walnut-OK, stainless steel and rubber grips is a good combo.

Yes sir. Blued steel, stainless steel, wood grips (stag and ivory great as well), and leather holsters work just fine for this shooter.

I started down the handgun path with a few dedicated hunting rigs- TC contenders and encores. It quickly morphed into a plastic fantastic obsession, only to be replaced by a wheel gun madness. Luckily, I recovered and got into bullseye and 1911s. Today, nothing makes me happier than a nice 22 auto and a brick of ammo.