How far can you shoot accurately without a scope on...

Status
Not open for further replies.
First you would need to define "accurately"
Since those rifles have no iron sights, I suspect it's not very far

I'm not young and it's hard to do well past 100m with irons. Anything further scope time for me.
That's with my 700/.270, also I've never even seen the type you're asking about. With no sights, as stated, then perhaps a washing machine at 10m three out of five shots. I'd already hit prior to realizing the specifics so bear with me here.

Last edited:
Without any sights at all, not far. With quality iron sights the difference in group size compared to optics is a lot less than many think. Optics help you see the target easier especially in poor light. In good light an experienced shooter can hit man sized targets out to at least 500 yards. Many much farther.

"I'm a rookie. I guess my definition of accurate would be within a radius of about 10 meters."

10 meters radius is a barn sized target. Even with senior citizen eyes, I'm sure I can hit a barn @1000 yards if I have a spotter to help walk them in. We'll ASSume you're going to allow the use of sights.

Google "George Farr and the 1921 Camp Perry." For an old guy (62) he really had his stuff in one bag. No doubt that man could shoot.

try a sharps rifle. 50-90 thru -110. out to able to go 1000 yards+ with that one.
heck, i do 1000 yards with a 50-70 gov. with open sights.

I think for any reasonable shooter it will be as far as they can clearly see. For me, it's about 30 yards if I'm just shooting for groups. For hunting, I could probably take a shot around 50-75 yards and be confident in a kill. Type of iron sight matters too. I like peep sights, but can't shoot very well with buckhorns.

Remember, scopes don't make you more accurate, they just allow you to see farther. Scope or no, all the same principles of good shooting apply.