How durable is the Makarov?

mvdemarco

Has anyone fired alot of rounds with their Makarov? I have a new Bulgarian on the way and I'm curious it it is as tough as a modern design such as a Ruger or a Glock.

The Makarov just does not wear out. Sure, once in a while you'll have to replace the recoil spring, but other than that? Nah.

Hello. I have no first-hand knowledge of this, but assuming that the steel's good, I think that because the gun's large for caliber, it is less stressed than it would be were it smaller. Just guessing now, but I suspect that because of the above and because the 9x18Mak is not a high-pressure round, the makarovs will take one heck of a lot of shooting.

Best.

A former coworker claims to have over 50,000 rounds through his East German Makarov. Knowing him, I'd say he's got 50K and then a few more.

A light day at the range for this guy is 2,500 rounds.

Makarovs were designed for very extenssive field use. I have NEVER seen Makarov out of comission.
I do not know how many rounds it can stand up to, but I am sure it is ALLOT.

Can't go wrong with Mak

The Makarov is like the Energizer bunny. It keeps going and going and going. AND its accurate too!

Pilot

I can't even comprehend the pain that would be caused by firing 2500 rounds through a Mak in one day. Those pistols just plain kick. It kicks more than my .40.

Rob

Is the Mak recoil really that surprising?!?! It's such a small light round that it fires. What can you really compare it to?

I have a Russian MAK, which was my first semi pistol, and I have put thousands of rounds through it. It has never jammed or given me problems. I now use it to judge the reliability of any new handgun I get.

I was reading somewhere that if you replace the plastic grip with one of those rubberize grips,that the recoil is alot less snappy,any one try this yet? I`ll get one this weekend and let you know how it is.