How do you clean a dove??

winchester1300

Woooohoooo! Dove season starts tomorrow! Problem being I am not sure what to do with any doves if I get them. I saw one get "cleaned" once last year. I think he pulled the feathers off the breast and then...ummm did some other stuff....and pulled the breast meat out. How do you do that?? Sorry bout the stupid question, but hey, I am new to this. Thank you for any insight you may provide.

In the field, mostly thumbs. I only keep the breast of a dove. A thumbnail at the rear of the breast will break the skin. It rips real easy, so you can peel all the skin off the breast and back. I then use my thumbnail to break the "innards" loose and pull out all the guts. Then, a bit of brute force to tear the back away from the breast and wings. I push forward through the middle, pushing out the craw. You just twist the head off, and don't worry about the neck. Or the wings.

Unless the weather is pretty hot, I don't worry about all this until the shooting is done.

At home, in not-quite-warm water, I clean off all the feathers and try to squeeze out any shot close to the skin. I use scissors to cut off the wings.

First, hit the dove.

:), Art

I pluck some feathers off the breast, slit the skin over the breast and peel it off the breast. I cut through the ribs with shears or heavy scissors (or just pull real hard) to free up the breast. It's easier with the poultry shears to just cut through the joints at the wings (leaving one wing one til I get home for F&G species ID requirements) and ribs at the back, etc. Any "innards" still attached are just pulled off. Then I wash the meat to remove feathers, blood, etc. I also just keep the breast.