How do rifles eject bullets?

Tool

I'm a rookie to the rifle world. Today I was playing with some dummy bullets. Unlike pistols that will eject the bullets when you rack the slide, my CMMG Banshee 9mm did not eject the dummy bullet at all when I was cycling the charging handle. In the end I had to use a stick to poke the bullet out :D:D Is this normal?

How thick is the rim on the dummy?

Could be the extractor isn't getting a good grip on the case rim.

Did you single feed it into the rifle or did you let it feed/load from the magazine?

You can also take the bolt out of the rifle and try snapping a round on the bolt head. If it just falls off, the spring on the extractor might be weak.

Thanks for the reply.

I also tried it using real bullets, it did the same thing. Yes, I did use an AR conversion 9mm magazine to feed the bullet.

Will check the ejector spring when I get a chance.

Not to be mean or pedantic but the bullet is just the thing that leaves the barrel.

'Proper' terminology would be 'round' or 'cartridge'. After the gun fires the bullet you'd say the rifle ejects the 'case'. In your post it would be more precise to say 'dummy round' or 'dummy cartridge' instead of 'dummy bullet'.

When I say I'm buying 'bullets' I'm buying just the metal bullet (they're usually metal) that flies out of the muzzle of the gun. I assemble a round or a cartridge by putting a primer in a case, adding powder and seating the bullet on top.

All that said, I appreciate new members to the forum and please don't feel put upon. I'll wager someone will come along and correct or expand on what I just wrote.

Good luck.

P.S. I've actually had to use a stick to poke a bullet out of a gun. It was a revolver and one of my reloads didn't have enough 'omph' to push the bullet all the way out of the barrel. The case came out of the cylinder normally. I was trying for some low recoil target loads and was using the lowest gunpowder charge listed. My bad. A learning experience for me.