HK SL-8

remy66

Inactive
Any thoughts on the HK SL-8 thinking about buying one are there any problems with the rife other than the price.

Thumbhole grip absolutely sucketh. This feature alone was enough to scratch it off my wishlist and I'm a pretty big HK fan. The rest of the gun is great.

- Ron V.

------------------

In SL8 you really see what German version of gun control makes to good (long) guns. SL8 is based on HK G36 assault rifle, but the German authorities required so many modification to the cililian sales version that there are practically no similarities left. According to the German gun law a civilian rifle cannot even look like a military rifle in any detail!

Ossi

Thanks All! The information is good I think I will put off buying one for now and buy another AR 15. I am new to the firing line and the computer.

I say Thanks again to all

Best price on the SL8 is floating around $1500. Just picked one up tonight and unfortunately with sales tax and fees...came to about $1700.

It is a very cool gun but I have to wait to see how it shoots. Very nice plastics. But it only accepts 10-rd mags. Anyone know where the SL8 mags are available?

I looked at one today.
I must say - I LOVE IT. I liked the feel fit and finish.
The cost was 1800 - so after tax your looking at 2K. For a 10 round shooter. This is not acceptable.
Should a gunsmith be able to modify this gun to accept Standard GI mags - I wont spend my money on it. Nor would I opt to take it into a tactical situation. To the range? Every dang time! But untill it can pack its own share of lead it wont be doing any real work for me.

------------------
"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." - Sigmund Freud
RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE

I must disagree with the comment that $2K is too much for a ten round shooter. Any decent bolt action sniper rifle can cost minimum of $2K and goes all the way up to $4K or $5K. These are 1 to 5 rounders.