Heritage Arms .22 experience, opinions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwinnydapooh

Retired Screen Name
Y'all tired of me yet?
I'm still looking for that gun to work on the fiancee with. I was in the local gunshop today getting acquainted (w/o her, she's on Fall Break) and the one I handled that I think we could both really enjoy was a Heritage Rough Rider. It's a little .22 SA revolver--looks like a "cowboy movie" gun. Oddly enough, it has a safety as well. Also comes with a .22 mag cylinder for $125. I like this gun a lot, and I think she'll like it when she handles it. The price is great, but it worries me. I searched this forum and could find only one mention of this gun, and it was negative. Surely someone else has used it? Will I be disappointed with this gun as a first .22 to plink with?

------------------
Don

"Its not criminals that go into schools and shoot children"
--Ann Pearston, British Gun Control apologist and moron

I have no knowledge of that make or model, but...

Some years ago my brother bought a Colt SA 22 for his wife, which came with a 22 Mag cylinder.Neither he nor I(Better shot) could do all that much with the piece,and I'd had lots of experience with SAs. The long slow hammer fall and heavy trigger(inevitable due to geometry) weren't conducive to accuracy.

Since your fiancee will do better with a gun that's more accurate,meaning she'll like the hits and not get discouraged, try a target 22 like the ones by Ruger,Browning or Colt is you can find one used.