Help With Some Gunsmith Work I Had Done Please

Tony C

All,

I am in need of help and feedback from those with experience on what quality gunsmith work should be.

I have a S&W 642 and took it to a very well reviewed gunsmith in my area of Oregon to have the front sight post milled off and a XS Big Dot Sight installed, and to have the trigger worked. I asked them to take the trigger, which I believe was close to a 12# pull, to between 8.5 and 9 pounds.

When I got the revolver back, two things jumped out at me. First, I was surprised by what appears to me to be a very poorly done milling job. I have to admit that I have zero experience with this kind of work though, and am not sure if it is a bad as I think.

Also, when testing the trigger pull, while it was noticeably smoother, it still seemed very heavy. I asked the counter guy to tell me what the trigger weight was, and he told me that he couldn't be sure because their pull gauge didn't work that well. When he tested it, it tested at almost 11 pounds.

So, here are my questions: First, take a look at these pictures and tell me if this is what I should have expected from finished milling work. Also, is 8.5 to 9 pounds of trigger pull weight appropriate for a daily carry revolver and should I be able to expect them to correct their work to that expectation?

Thanks for your insight,
Tony

Milled-642-2.jpg

Milled-642-1.jpg

The trigger pull sounds average.

The milling job you have highlighted was done at the factory. It's the raised section just in front of that, that your 'smith worked on.

What he did was pick up the first "step" in that top rib, and carry it forward to remove the front sight. The "nasty" part was all S&W... ;)