Help with my over thinking revolver decision!

Nathan

I’m not new to revolver’s or even big revolvers or even deer hunting with revolvers.

That said, I harvested a nice 4x4 mule deer about 32 years ago with my dad’s 10.5” 44 magnum. That said, we were total newbies. He bought that and we went to the range. Shot a few close 25 yd targets and then tried our hand at 100 yds. This of course drove a scope & mount purchase! We actually got pretty good hitting typing paper at 100 yds. I mean if you expect rifle performance from yourself and your handgun, you eventually just figure it out!

After that, i bought a 5.5” Bisley Blackhawk 45 Colt. I loaded it pretty hot and had a blast getting decent out to 50 yds, but Ohio deer never came out when I was carrying it. Actually OH deer hunting has been mostly a disaster for me.

So, 32 yrs later, I hunt in Montana. There are getting to be a few more predators. Mountain Lions and Grizzly bears where I hunt…..well, a Grizzly would be pretty rare.

I shot my deer this year at 30 yards. I don’t think I can count on that, but if I see another deer under 50 yards, I’d like to be able to take with a revolver.

So, I’m thinking I’d like to trade or sell/buy for a S&W 44 mag. That leaves me looking at the 629 or 69. What should I be looking for? I reload, so hotness of load is tunable somewhat for recoil. I’m thinking whichever would get the reflex sight treatment….Holosun most likely.

Just for fun, I’ll mention the trade bait. I have a S&W 547 round butt that is so cool, but never really drives me to get it out of the safe. …..or I have a S&W M&P2.0 40S&W FDE or a Ruger GP100 I could probably be talked out of….the 547 is the most likely.

So, what advice do you all have? I need a lot of advice!