help identifying a rifle (mosin nagant?)

s2thalayer

I need someone to help me identify this rifle. i bought it off of a guy a while back for like 50 bucks. he claimed he had no idea what the rifle was. i identified it as a Finnish M91 Mosin Nagant, but im far from an expert on old rifles. It has all the characteristics of a mosin, fires 7.62x54, has a recoil from hell, blows any scope or muzzle brake off that i put on it, and on an ID site, the ID number on the receiver appeared to be the Finnish 91/30. The thing that has me doubting, funny enough, is the stock. I have image searched mosins everywhere and never seen another stock like this on one.

165636_10150123253669882_619079881_7584423_1784161_n.jpg

162722_10150123253979882_619079881_7584425_7976197_n.jpg

Last edited:
91-30 stock

The stock does not appear original to the gun if it is a Finnish rifle. The Finnish Mosins had a semi-pistol grip full length stock. Your stock is a cut down Mosin stock of some sort complete with an after market recoil pad. I am not sure about the rear sight being Finnish or if the rifle has a Finnish proof mark on the receiver.

Jeff

Looks like a Russian from the proof mark over the chamber. If it were Finnish you would see a very distinctive Finnish proof mark. The Sako Gear was common on Finnish Mosins, although Tikka was also common.

The arrow in triangle at the base looks like an Izhevsk mark, but the D usually means that it has been verified by a Finnish arsenal to accept the D166 blank cartridge. So you could have a Russian manufactured Finnish capture rifle, but the barrel is still Russian. Of course if you could clean up the markings it would really help with a more precise identification.

Jimro

Last edited:
The stock does not appear original to the gun if it is a Finnish rifle. The Finnish Mosins had a semi-pistol grip full length stock.