Help for a newbie AR owner

Ed209

Inactive
I wanted to get some opinions on AR-15 aftermarket parts from all you vets out there. I am a newbie AR owner, recently bought a new Bushmaster, and was wondering if some of these parts were worth their sometimes considerable cost.

1) Hard chromed bolts and carriers. These seemed very expensive ($200 each). The only benefit I've been told was easy, quick cleaning. Worth it? I know I've got some carbon build up on my bolt, particularly on the face, that is extremely difficult to remove, would this chrome bolt help, or am I just not using the right cleaning product?

2) Titanium firing pins. Some say they improve accuracy by decreasing lock time, while others say that because they are so light, they may cause erractic ignition in some hard primers. I'm always looking for better accuracy, but is this the way to go?

3) I've got a Smith Muzzle Brake (set-screw type for post-ban rifle). Granted the recoil on an AR is pretty minimal, but would this accessory help? Is the installation of a set-screw brake reliable, assuming its done correctly (dimpling of barrel, lock-tite)? Or should I skip the muzzle brake and go for a flash suppressor instead? (my post-ban BM throws a HUGE flame)

Other than that, I'm not too interested in other aftermarket parts (that I know of) because my BM peforms excellently! It has a great trigger, I have a decent, reliable scope. Is there anything I'm missing out on that some of you swear by?

Thanks for helping a newbie!

Ed

Ed,
Nothing wrong with a chrome bolt, looks good & easy to clean, but really won't improve the operation of the gun from what I have seen.

Titanium firing pins are usually more trouble than they are worth. Accuracy?, a trigger job will help a 1000 times more than lock time will.

Can't really answer about putting a flash supressor on it, but I do know that with post-ban that is a big "NO NO" according to Big Brother.