Hello, New To this site

Bear State

Inactive
I am new here. Glad to find a site to talk guns. We love our guns here in Arkansas. Hope to gain much knowledge. Thank you.

1st question:

Thoughts on the Ruger All American Rifles. Wanting to buy the 6.5 Creedmoore.

Howdy, been registered here since 2007, used it for a little bit then stopped until today haha. I come in and see people have disappeared! A bunch of posts are from mid 2016, sucks to see not a lot of people here anymore

I have no experience with the Creedmore, I'm a 6.5x55 guy, but the 6.5 bore is popular for good reasons. For a modest recoil, you can send decent weight, high BC and SD bullets downrange with enough velocity to do the job. Lots of good bullets available.

Regards the Ruger American, I bought one in .243 a couple years ago. It's no beauty, but it works. I'm still fooling with loads, but it will group Barnes TTSX 80s <1". My brother bought a .22, and it rivals my CZ.

After she attended a long range shooting school, I bought my wife a Ruger Precision Rifle in 6.5 CM.

Playing with it I was quite impressed with the 6.5 round. I've been reading good reviews on the Ruger American Predator and thought I might give it a try, thinking I would get a light rifle for deer and antelope.

So I picked one of (in 6.5 CM) and was pleasingly surprised. It is extremely accurate. Being light weight I figured the rounds would start walking as it got warm. Which wouldn't be a problem for a hunting rifle and you don't normally shoot enough to get it that hot while hunting.

Only at the range I found out it doesn't have that problem. I also found that it isn't picky about ammo. Yes for pure accuracy you cant beat the 143 Hornady bullets about 2700 fps. I weight each charge, slow but accuracy.

I had a box of 142 gr. Noslers Accrabonds I wanted to try for hunting. I used Winchester 760 powder, and after setting up the powder measure, I didn't weigh the powder. Just threw it into the case from the measure.