Headspace question- check my work

BoogieMan

I have plenty of machining experience and many times it comes down to feel on manual work and gages. I dont have a local schooled gunsmith to ask questions. I built a remage (savage style barrel on 700) and I have both go/no-go for my cartridge. Bolt closes with the slightest amount of pressure on the go. Will just start on the cam with the no-go. I checked my work against some PPU loaded ammo I have on hand. Requires light pressure to close the bolt on the ammo. Open up easily but the bolt requires a bit of a tap with my palm to slide open. This is a target gun not a hunting gun. Still I feel its a bit tight. I backed off approx 5 degrees (.0008) and the ammo sticks much less. I still have to open to the extraction cam on bolt handle or tap the bolt back. But, it closes with min pressure on a factory cartridge, fals closed on go gage. Lugs begin to engage cams but will not close on no-go.
Any flaw in my method? Any reason I should make any changes? If this were a hunting rifle I would likely loosen up another 5-10 deg.

Last edited:
It's generally not a good idea to use ammo or cases as a go gauge. Since there's a tolerance in SAAMI spec, there will be a tolerance in your results that may mean that one ammo functions as a Go Gauge but next time you buy Brand Y instead and it's a "No Go" guage. Oops.

Since you're custom building the gun, the actual spec is largely irrelevant. If you want it to be tight or lose on Go Gauge, that's fine. You could even make it close on the No Go, so long as you size your brass accordingly. It really doesn't matter.

But, if you don't use the Go Gauge then you'll have to be aware that any given ammo may or may not fit. If you make your own, it don't matter what the gauges say. Set the sizing die accordingly and roll it.