Hard Close?

OldDominion

Inactive
I really wasn't sure where to post this, so I apologize if this is the wrong place...

I'm very new to firearms (within the last two years or so) so I don't know how common or uncommon this is, but, I have two bolt guns (a Remington 783 and a Savage 11/111, both .308) that will occasionally have what I can only describe as a 'hard close'. I go to push the bolt down and it's noticeably harder to close. It's almost like it's a really tight fight in the bore. This happens intermittently with both rifles, and different brands of ammunition.

I've cycled Winchester, Ultramax, PPU, and Tula through both and they both do this. The rounds are all out of the same box, and I have multiple boxes of each, and out of each box I'll have one or two rounds that will do this. It's never the same round either; like, it's never always the second round or the last round, it's completely random.

I realize there are variances in manufacturing tolerances and I'm talking about factory ammunition, I just didn't know if this was a normal thing or not since I'm so new to scene.

Thanks in advance for any insight you can provide.

Is the Tula steel cased?

If so, clean your chamber. The steel cases do not expand like brass to seal the chamber. You likely have powder/carbon built up in the chamber around the shoulder area.

I agree with both posts. If your chambers need a good cleaning, I would hope that isn't the problem, then you have to take better care of your rifles. If you do, your rounds are the problem. Eject all the hard ones and check the cases for rub marks. Hard chambering will cause your locking lugs on your bolt to gaul.

Thanks for the replies, guys.