Handloading concerns and the .40 Super

Status
Not open for further replies.

david_m_curry

I am totally new to pistols and I am about to begin reloading .40 Super, so I have a few questions.

1. How do I choose between using a small rifle primer versus a small magnum pistol primer? Both are recommended for the .40 Super.

2. Which scenario, if any, creates the least wear on one's pistol:
a. Small bullet, high velocity, high energy, high pressure,
b. Large bullet, medium velocity, high energy, high pressure, or
c. Large bullet, high velocity, very high energy, medium pressure? Question 3 will detail how scenario (c) is possible.

3. Hodgdon's LIL'GUN appears to give cartridges of similar bore capacity to the .40 Super about a 50-100fps advantage over any other powder and the peak pressure is incredibly low while doing this. I estimate that a 200gr. bullet at around 1350fps from a 5" barrel should be should be very acheivable and the pressure would probably not reach 32,00psi. In this case you are limited not by pressure but by powder capacity. Has anyone tried LIL'GUN yet? How about VihtaVoury N110 (it looked like it should be the equal of AA No. 9)? I am mostly concerned with the shot-to-shot standard deviation of the velocity.

4. In handguns (i.e. tiny amounts of powder), do extruded powders (like VV N110) wear barrels noticably quicker than do spherical powders?

Thanks,
David Curry

David - The choice between a small rifle primer and small magnum pistol primer is not that critical if you are not trying to load the .40 Super to full house levels. You may see some primer flow with the pistol primer if you do. We prefer the Federal brand of small rifle primers for all the loads.