Handguns that shoot shot shells

Status
Not open for further replies.

chexmix

In Michigan shotguns have to have a certain barrel length. I'm kinda new to guns how do hand guns that shoot shot shells get around the barrel length law?

The only common caliber that can do that is .410 caliber because it is under the .50 caliber limit and they do that by having a rifled bore and have the ability to fire the 45 Colt cartridge.

Other than that and you are basically in AOW territory.

It has more to do with the capability of equipping the weapon with a stock.

Oddly enough, the minimum length for a shotgun barrel is 18", while a rifle is "16 long. This curious regulation is likely to do with the government having a million M1 Carbines left over after the war, so the wise old politicians simply adjusted the law.

And speaking of politicians, I'm sure that all of these wonderful gun control laws make perfect sense.

The only common caliber that can do that is .410 caliber because it is under the .50 caliber limit and they do that by having a rifled bore and have the ability to fire the 45 Colt cartridge.

Sounds interesting enough, but how does this relate to several other pistols, like the Thompsons and the Judge? Does the same explanation apply? Are these all rifled barrel pistols? Is there indeed a maximum pistol caliber?

Last edited:
Its all about rifling. Not the shell..

Think about it.. A 22rf in a rifled S&W K-22 Masterpiece is simply not a shotgun just because you are using CCI shotshells. Same with a Taurus 85 38spl snubby using shotshells, or a 44mag Ruger Blackhawk using them. Its not the shells, its whether the bore is rifled or smooth. ..Same holds true with(except in CA) with a Taurus Judge, BFR, Contender, Comanche, Bond Arms or American Derringer using a .410bore shell in an elongated .45Colt chamber.

A 12" barreled Contender pistol using a typical rifle cartridges of 30.06, 30-30, 45-70, etc doesn't make it a "rifle".