Handgun Action????

Cyric13

I'm pretty new to guns and I'm trying to decide on what kind of action to get my first semi-auto handgun in. But the thing is I'm not sure exactly what they all mean. So I need someone to clear it up for me.
SA= heavier trigger pull with shorter pull distance?
DAO= longer, lighter trigger pull and gun goes into safe mode after each shot?
DA/SA= first shot has long DA trigger and all other shots in SA mode?
And if you had to choose between them what would you pick and what features would you look for in the gun(safties, etc...). I plan too buy this gun and pratice and keep praticing until I'm comfortable with it and all its functions.
So I'm willing and open to all knowledge.

Thanks in Advance, Cyric13

SA (single action): Short 3.5lb to 5.5lb trigger pull every time the trigger is pulled.

DAO (double action only): Long 9lb to 12lb
trigger pull. Like a revolver that cannot
be cocked manually.

DA/SA (double action/single action): First
shot is long and heavy between 9lb to 12lbs, like a revolver. After that, the pull is short and in the 3.5lb to 5.5lb range.

Trigger pull weights depend on the manufacturer of the firearms. Some are heavier than others.

For a first semi-auto, the choice is up to you. Get you're most comfortable with.

Let form follow function. What sort of uses do you have in mind?

For competition and recreation, most shooters prefer a single action pistol to get the best trigger pull. For personal defense, some shooters prefer a DA/SA, DAO or "safe action" (Glock) pistol for the sake of point-n-shoot simplicity.

Aside from use, the other major factors are what fits your hand well and how much you're willing to spend.

If you don't have to have a safety, the simplest thing would be a good double action
revolver such as a S&W .38 or .357. You can pick one up used for $200 to $350.

If an auto is definitely d, go with a Glock for simplicity, accuracy, and reliability. If you want an exterior safety,