Hammer vs Hammerless Revolvers?

Jamie Young

I have been checking out a lot of snubbies for pocket carry. I really prefer a revolver with a hammer but I'm simply just not use to a hamerless gun. I liked a Ruger SP101 but I really don't know what the benefit of a hamerless revolver is?

Hammerless revolvers are less likely to snag on the draw, probably faster on the draw, but cant be fired SA, obviously.

You may want to get a shrouded hammer model. It is the best of both worlds.

Can you give me an example of one? I don't know of any? I'm new to revolvers if you can't tell. What about ported barrels on short barrels. Does it make a difference? Or is that something you only have on longer barreled revolvers.

My biggest snag concern would be on pocket carry. Imagine having a 2" wheelgun in the front pocket of your jeans and having to skin it. The hammer would most likely catch and you would barely get the grip exposed.

I'm firmly against porting on small, defensive handguns.

If you have to fire from a high retention position, and depending on the type & location of ports and how you hold the gun, you could end up with a face full of hot gas and particulates.

In the best case scenario, unpleasant, in the worst case, blinding.