H & R ultra slug gun 20 Or 12ga.

btmonnat

Inactive
Going to buy an H & R ,Ultra slug gun. Any experiance with range or accuracy between the 12 or 20 gauge with this gun? Any input will be greatly appreciated.

I was just exploring the same setup. I read a decent article by Randy Wakeman about 20 gauge sabot slugs. It convinced me to go with the 20 gauge. I found the regular HB H&R ultra slug to be too heavy so I'm holding out for the light ultra slug. Only one in my area for sale at the moment is the 12 gauge.

12ga or 20ga Ultra slug

I would be interested to know peoples' experience with these two... I would assume that 20ga slugs would suffice, especially if you cast & hand-load, and can make the slugs as heavy as desired.... have not bought either as yet....

These are both rifled barrels correct? If so you will have to send sabots down the pipe. Accurate but expensive ammo.

I have a 20ga Wingmaster slug gun and have found it to be very accurate to 100yds although you will loose some knock down power at the outer reaches. I have read testimony of 20ga sabot kills out past 150yds but cant speak first hand on it

Yes they are rifled barrels. I do not use a shotgun much for deer but for the price and accuracy these seem like a good buy. I have read a lot of good reviews on these. Just cannot decide 12 or 20 gauge.

The 20ga may actually be more accurate but i dont have any data to prove that. Sabot ammo is expensive. I use Hornady SST or Federal Fusion. Both work well with my gun. It likes the Remington offering too but they are the most expensive. Expect to pay $10-$20 for 5 shells.

Here is my slug gun, its a Wingmaster Express mag with Remington rifled/cantilevered barrel, Nikon Omega scope, Remington synthetic stocks. I have about $450 in the gun total.

IMG_20141126_233016_208-1.jpg

How recoil sensitive are you? Those single shot slug guns, espically in 12 gauge, are going to kick.