Gunsite Sold!

Yup, it's true. Gunsite Training Center was sold on 9/30/99 to Owen "Buzz" Mills, a retired businessman in S. Florida. Rich Jee has move into full time pharmacy work and there is a promise that Col. Cooper will be Director of Curriculum. Former Salisbury, MD Police Chief, Bud Dykes, will be running the operation.

This is a bittersweet victory, as I had been attempting to purchase the operation since 1995. Finally, in late July 1999, we changed direction and Colonel Cooper agreed to join us in a competing venture....actually, next door on 500 acres.

One week later, Mills approached the Coopers with plans to purchase the operation. I offered to step aside if they could get the deal done by 9/30 and they did it. I'd like to think that our alternative plans helped to force Jee to finally sell, but this is only speculation. However, I know of no less than 4 other deals that died in the 11th hour due to Rich's "maneuvers".

I've spoken to Buzz Mills a couple of times in past and he seems like a straight up guy. Good things are also being said of Chief Dykes, so we have high hopes. While I questioned Mills motives and methods for a while, I believe he has done this well and trust he will restore the institution to the respectability of Orange Gunsite.

I owe many thanks to many people for their support of our efforts to purchase the operation. They know who they are and it is not my place to mention them publicly. Suffice it to say we had an outstanding team lined up.
Rich Lucibella

Pharmacy work? Guess I really am out of touch. I wonder what new directions Gunsite will take now?

I hope Jeff will be back at Gunsite. Mr. Jee seems to have stiffed Jeff with the dal they had. I wish them well, Jeff and Mr. Jee with his freelance pharmacy. lol

Rich - you seem to have a great knowledge of that whole episode. Could you post the in's and out's of the Cooper/Jee sale?

Giz