Gun Oil Removal Wood Stock

The Rattler

I am refurbishing a 1930s gunstock. It has a lot of gun oil in the front part of the stock in the area of the stock that fits into the receiver.

I stripped it, steamed it, and soaked it in acetone for intermittent periods totaling about 1 1/2 hours. The steaming removed imbedded finish & gun oil. The acetone removed a whole lot of gun oil, but there is still a light discolorazation only on one side of the exterior of that front part of the butt stock. It has soaked in acetone so much that the front part of the stock is noticeably lighter than the back part. I stood the front of the stock in a bucket of acetone as shown Larry Potterfield in a video.

Do I keep soaking in acetone? Or, can you do that too long? While I am a little concerned about the 2 tone effect caused by the acetone, I believe I can apply about 10 - 12 coats of pure Tung oil and it wouldn't be very noticeable, if at all. But this is my first time removing gun oil & I want to do it right for my learning purposes.

So, should I keep soaking with acetone or stop?

I recently refinished a Win #100 stock. I used "whiting" and acetone, it worked well. I was able to extract a lot of the discoloration from over oil over load. I mixed the whiting so it was like a wet paste, I fount the thinner the better as long as it would stay in place on the stock. I coated the whole stock and more or less baked it. Living in the South West, by bake it I mean leave it outside in a metal box. I did it 8 times while rinsing with acetone in between. I found that keeping the compound somewhat wet with acetone worked well.

Have you tried using paper towels and just heat, like from an iron? That can take out the oil which will be absorbed by the towel, better than steaming.