Good scope for my new 223 gun

Hey guys this is my first time on here and I have a question for those people that have been shooting for a while

I just purchased a mossberg mvp patrol chambered in 556/223 and am looking for a good but not too expensive (around the $200 range) to use. The ranges I will be shooting are anywhere from 50-200 yards maybe just a little further. Any suggestions. I have been looking at the 1x4 or 2x7 is this what I need?
Also I am fairly new to guns and scopes themselves. What are good scope mounts?

So maybe your suggestion on a scope and mounts please! Thank you Leo

Last edited:
On several of my rifles I have a Nikon prostaff 3x-9x and they work very well at the ranges you're looking to shoot at. I've used mine out to 300 yards with no problems. I also use just the standard Weaver rings and bases. These have held up over several hundred rounds out of various rifles that I have used over the years. If you watch for sales you can quite often pick up one of these scopes for around $150.

What are you going to be shooting "at" at 50-200yds? Is this punching paper at a range, varmint hunting, woods gun?

What kind of ammo are you going to shoot? Russian steel? Cheap brass? Expensive hunting loads? Hand-loads?

The MVP is basic scout rifle, the Patrol model even comes with a rail and iron sites which is awesome. My first thought is to learn to use the irons and learn to love them. If it's "just" a knockaround gun but you want something to look through for short-range... how about a red-dot. Primary Arms sells their new micro with a base for about $100. A Vortex Sparc with base can be had on sale for under $200. An Aimpoint Pro can be had for about $375 on sale, but is a bit bigger than the other 2 I listed. You're probably not gonna get the fidelity you want from one all the way out at 200yds, but the Primary Arms Classic Micro has a built-in base, gets great reviews and is currently $80.