Good idea?

Day Dreamer

Inactive
Unfortunately, I am an 18 year old resident of the PRK, as some affectionately know it.

Call me paranoid, but if I can avoid it, I'd rather not buy a gun that I have to register. Especially not here California. As such, I was browsing through Nevada law, and noticed that one need be only 18 to purchase hand guns there, and that there is no registration required.

I will be in Nevada visiting family in a couple months, so would there be any legal entanglements if I were to purchase a handgun (most likely a Browning Hi power) in Nevada and bring it back to California? Any precautions I should take?

One Reference

Day Dreamer,

Here are a couple of references on Califirnia (and interstate) gun laws I'm sure there are plenty more out there.

http://www.gunlaws.com/links/linksca.htm

http://www.nraila.org/GunLaws/FederalGunLaws.aspx?ID=59

http://www.nraila.org/GunLaws/Federal/Read.aspx?id=74

Before you get too far, it would be worth a call to the gunshop you plan to use in Nevada to confirm they will sell a handgun to a non-resident. I've gotten different answers from two gunshops in the same town.

If you're not a resident of Nevada, you can only buy a handgun to have it shipped to a gun dealer in California (where you are a resident). You cannot take possession of a handgun that you purchase from another state. Once your California dealer has it, you have to go through whatever requirements are set in California.

Example--I am a resident of NJ. I went to Nevada, and purchased a handgun there. The dealer had to ship it to a dealer here in NJ. The NJ dealer then handled the background check, and I had to go through NJ's requirements of a purchase permit prior to taking possession of the gun. It would have been 100% illegal for me to take the gun myself in Nevada. Unless I relocated to Nevada and became a resident.