good belt at walmart?

o-town

I'm looking for a cheap, sturdy belt for my IWB holster. I'm a college student and really can't afford an expensive belt. I don't care about how the belt looks because my t-shirt will cover it. Has anyone found a good cheap belt for CCW at Wal Mart? If so, how much did you pay for it, and does it work for you?

I have a belt made by "Faded Glory", one of the brands they carry at wallyworld. It is 1 1/2 inches wide, black with a double buckle. It cost me 10 dollars and works good for IWB carry. The double buckle helps to keep the belt stiff instead of letting it shift.

You could use pretty much any stiff belt for IWB carry and not have too many problems with it. The weight of the holster and pistol is supported by the pants and your belt, putting less stress on the belt. I've worn dress belts with IWB holsters and not had any problems.

Standard holsters are a different issue. You definitely want a good stiff belt for that because the full weight will be supported by the belt.

Another suggestion is a bootmaker or leather shop. Good deals can be found there on a belt good enough to do double duty. I bought a nice 1 1/2" basketweave belt for $15.00 that works great for holsters at my local bootmaker.

Good Shooting
RED

o-town,

Check your phone book for an Eli's Western Wear Store. They have them around Florida. I picked up a nice sturdy leather belt from them a few months ago. It was only $20 and works great. If they don't have one in stock they will order one for you. If you find an Eli's and can't find the belt I'll send you the skew number if you need it.

I'd think just about any western store would have good belts for sale.

Also Tactical Ted at the Orlando Fairgrounds Gun Show sells the Wilderness Instructor's belt if you want to try one on before buying. He charges $40 tax included.

Good luck,
Gino