going to look at a jungle carbine tomorrow

Ruthless4christ

Local classified, .303 jungle carbine $325.00. Called the fella, he has 4 different ones, and he says they all seem to be in good shape, but he does not know much about guns.

I have been wanting one for a long time, and am hoping this may be a great deal. Any tips on what to look for would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

I'm not an expert on these but apparently many are not "authentic" so hopefully an expert will chime in. I will tell you this... Several years ago I had the same urges you have but one thing killed it for me. I read about a condition known as "wandering zero" that plagues the jungle carbines. Apparently the rifle will be shooting with respectable accuracy and suddenly will send a flyer as much as 3-4 feet off target at 100 yards! At the time I was doing the research there was no explanation known. That, coupled with the fact that there are fakes that are pretty hard to distinguish, kind of ruined it for me. I'll stick with U.S. Military stuff.

Apparently the rifle will be shooting with respectable accuracy and suddenly will send a flyer as much as 3-4 feet off target at 100 yards! At the time I was doing the research there was no explanation known.

It's actually been well known by the Brits since the late 1940s (but not necessarily the rest of the world) that the receiver had too many lightening cuts causing the receiver to flex and throw the zero off.

The "fakes" are better shooters... no lightening cuts = better shooting (see wandering zero above).

Unless you are building an advanced military rifle collection, getting one that was modified from a Number 4 (standard rifle) will give you a handy rifle that will shoot well, balance well, and be a nice little carbine. I would not hold out for an "original" until YOU are the one that others are turing to for your expertise in identifying varients and versions. For the casual sowner and shooter... who cares?

Willie