Glock Convert - Conclusion

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ankeny

Last of a four, (or was it five?) part installment. I have been shooting Glock pistols a bunch for the last 9 months. All of the LEO agencies around here, and most of my shooting buddies have gone to Glocks, so I have been giving them a try. In the past 9 months I have owned a G21, G23, G17, G27 and a G35. I only have the G35 and G27 left.

The G21 was too fat so I traded it on the G35, my brother wanted the G17 so he got it, and I sold the G23 to the cop across the street. I hate the ergonomics of the Glock. They point too high so I had Arizona Response Systems do grip reductions on the G35 and the G27 and they now fit me perfectly.

I have shot about 1000 rounds through the G35. I added some Heinie Sights in addition to the grip reduction. The pistol shoots OK, but not what I consider a tack driver. I get 3-inch groups off hand at 25 yards and I can’t seem to improve on that. I consider the G35 to be a great “tactical” pistol, but it leaves something to be desired for serious competition.

I have shot about 500 rounds through my G27 and I love it. I no longer carry my P7M8 at all and the G27 is my primary carry weapon. It is very accurate and carries well. It doesn’t exhibit the butt heavy traits of the P7M8 and my particular G27 is more accurate than the P7M8. Not that I dislike the 9mm, but the G27 is a forty and I shoot it as well as the nine so why not carry it? Also, the Glock pistol will digest just about any kind of hollow point ammunition without throating and polishing as is often required with 1911 pistols. The total reliability with all ammunition and lack of external controls make the Glocks perhaps the best self-defense pistols you can find. I like them very much.