Glock 23 (.40) vs. HK USP .40?

twoblink

I'm sure I'm opening up a can of worms here, but I'm fairly new to the gun world so please bare with me. From all the shootings, I like the .40 caliber, so I'm looking to buy one. I like the feel of a SIG, but I hear so much about durability as an issue. I have narrowed it down to a Glock or an HK, and so now I need a little bit more info.

Which do you people on this forum recommend?

I think neither has any problems with reliability and durability. HK seems to have a better safety system. I'm left handed, so I'm looking for one that's more left-hand friendly. Any pros/cons I should know about?
A friend says that Glocks aren't as good as HK's because of the safety systems issues, also I read that HK has a hex barrel which is more accurate.

Any and all help is much appreciated.

I own, have carried and still regularly shoot both (a G23 and V1 USP40F).

The G23 is easy to get into action as well as render 'home safe', fits my hand better, is lighter and more compact than my former service pistol. I don't shoot as accurately with it and in the hands of others, who've shot it with an 'unlocked' wrist, it has been prone to stovepipe and double feed stoppages. I do not believe it possible to shoot through it the variety of ammunition types that I can in my USP.

My USP has been a reliable, extremely accurate and durable pistol that I carried in conditon 1 as a SWAT officer. It is heavy and bulky by comparison to the G23 and not my preference for a CCW pistol.

With the G23, being left handed doesn't matter. With the USP, you can get a DAO only or one of the variants for lefties. USPs do have barrels with polygonal bores which is said to increase barrel life and account for better NIB mechanical rest accuracy.

Finally, as you probably know already the G23 costs less. So for CCW, the G23; for 'heavy duty' use and shoooting, the USP40F.

[This message has been edited by SKN (edited December 23, 1999).]