Glock 20 or 21. Man oh man, decisions, decisions.

Sling Shot

Ok, here is my situation. I want another Glock at least with a caliber that starts with a 4, and I am not going to use this gun for ccw. I will just use it for home defense, plinking, target shooting, and maybe on a deer or two. In the case of the Glock 20, why is the 10 mm round not given as much credit as it should have? I am no expert, but the ballistics of this round are awesome. It is right up there with the infamous .357 mag round in factory loadings. Also, I can still get preban 15 round high caps for the Glock 20 although they are rather expensive.

Now, this leaves me with the versatile .45 caliber in the Glock 21. I have been doing a lot of research lately, and have found out that a Glock 21 can be outfitted with barrel swaps and recoil spring changes to shoot 400 corbon, 40 Super, 45 Super, 450 SMC, 460 Rowland, and lord knows what is coming next. If it were you, which one would you pick, the 20 or 21, and for what reasons. Thanks, Sling Shot

Yep, It's a hard decision. I have fired the 20 and own a 21 with a Federal ported barrel for 45 Super, etc. I don't think you could go wrong with either one. I also think the 10mm does not get the attention it deserves. I guess my reasoning was based on a couple things. I already had a G30 for concealed carry and love it. Nice little package that fires a fat bullet. The G30 shoots as well as any full sized pistol I have. It seemed a logical move at the time and I have no regrets. I also wanted to toy with the 45 Super for hunting. It reaches 700lbs and more pretty easily, all with a .45 bullet. The availability of factory ammo and components was the final factor for the 21. It's not like 40 cal components are hard to find, but .45 are all over the place. You can get G21 13 rounders as well. They average about 100 bucks a piece. Good Luck.