Getting started...

Matt Wallis

Hello!

I am new to gun owning and shooting, having only bought my first gun (a Rem M597 .22) a little over a year ago. Since then my collection has grown to 5 guns. The last I bought was a Winchester 94 in .30-30. Why? Well, because in truth I didn't yet have a decent hunting rifle, but _also_ because I love the cowboy look and feel of the gun. That's why I didn't scope it (even though I could sure use one!). I don't have a single six yet, but that will definitely be my next purchase.

So now what? I have limited funds and time, but still would like to try this whole CAS thing. Unfortunately, I don't really know anything about it. I practice medieval swordsmanship as a martial art, and used to be in a type of re-enactment group. Is it something like that? Can I start with only my Winchester or do I need a single six? I live around Orlando FL, is there any CAS there? What kind of money outlay am I looking at to get started?

I would greatly appreciate any advice you'd all like to give.

Regards,
Matt Wallis

Howdy Matt,

CAS isn't really like re-enacting, though folks dress up like cowboys and shoot cowboys guns. It's really a shooting competition with certain costuming and firearm requirements.